American Strong Ale Suggestions!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

American Strong Ale Suggestions!

Stone's American strong ale selection has to be my favorite beers I've had yet. I'm new to the beer scene but I love real strong high percentage beers. I'm looking for similar tasting beers to the stone arrogant bastard line with my favorite being Oaked arrogant bastard ale. I'm looking for some similar tastes to these brews that would be available in the Southern California area. There's a liquor store down the street from me that carries a lot of specialty beers and I'd like to try some more of them out based on fellow mtbr members recommendations. Right now I'm enjoying a Stone Lucky Bastard which is delicious! I love all stone beers, there's like a kick to your tongue that most brewers don't give you. I really love the pine, citrus, sweet after taste, its the best.

mtbr member
    There are few beers that closely match what Stone has put together with the ABA beers. The craft brewing industry is so wrapped up in IPAs, DIPAs, Belgians, Belgian-IPAs and everything barrel aged, that simple strong ales are getting harder to find.
    Some similar beers -

Grand Teton Brewing Pursuit of Hoppiness - Lighter in color, a more clear red, lighter in flavor as well. It hits with a high alcohol kick.

Rogue Dead Guy Ale (and Double Dead Guy Ale) - Dead Guy Ale seems to be a love it or hate it beer. I love it. It is to me a slightly higher priced second option when ABA is not available.

There used to be a couple of local micro-brews in the Sacramento area that were real close. Both breweries have closed down now, but just for reference they were:
    Sacramento Brewing Co. Red Horse Ale;
    Hangtown Brewing Strong Blond (I think that was the name of it).