X Post: Chain question....- Mtbr.com
    EDR

X Post: Chain question....

This forum seems at least equally competent and more trustworthy, lol....

I'm not a newbie but this question might as well be.....

I have a new shimano cn-7701 chain. The directions clearly state DO NOT make the new connection (i need to remove some length) at the 'end pin' or the 'reinforcing pin' points. ONLY the 'link pin'. Now I have replaced maybe 2 chains (both Shimano) in the last 3 years and I remember reading this same stuff. I think in the past I finally just ignored the directions and made the connection.

The problem I am trying to solve is that on the diagram in the directions the show the 3 types of pins as visually different, however, on the chain itself I can not determine ANY difference in ANY of the links.

Any help clarifying this would be appreciated....

Thanks

I am Doctor Remulak
    Quote Originally Posted by eatdrinkride
    This forum seems at least equally competent and more trustworthy, lol....

I'm not a newbie but this question might as well be.....

I have a new shimano cn-7701 chain. The directions clearly state DO NOT make the new connection (i need to remove some length) at the 'end pin' or the 'reinforcing pin' points. ONLY the 'link pin'. Now I have replaced maybe 2 chains (both Shimano) in the last 3 years and I remember reading this same stuff. I think in the past I finally just ignored the directions and made the connection.

The problem I am trying to solve is that on the diagram in the directions the show the 3 types of pins as visually different, however, on the chain itself I can not determine ANY difference in ANY of the links.

Any help clarifying this would be appreciated....

Thanks
    The Shimano directions sound confusing. I'd just remove the links you don't need and make the connection.

sixsixtysix
    Friends don't let friends ride Shimano, buy a powerlink SRAM chain

J/king, i need to poke fun at Shimano when I can.