mtbr member
    Feb 2009

Caution;  Merge;  Workers Ahead! WARNING! Don't try to pre-ride the Whiskey 50 by yourself

I'm sitting here in Prescott, really pissed. I work a lot of weekends, so I can't get up here from Tucson for one of the Whiskey pre-rides. I manage to get today and tomorrow free, so I drive up here early this AM.

Never been here before, so I print off the course directions and maps from the Epic Rides website. I've been racing for 15 years and this looks really straightforward. I park at the Safeway at Hwy 89 and Copper Basin Rd and off I go. Lots of great singletrack and the climb up from Skull Valley is impressive. Then 4 miles from Prescott I am lost. NONE of the road/trail numbers match up. The forest is torn to shreds. I circle around for a F****** hour, and finally just pick up my bike and bushwack through the woods to a subdivision just a 1/8 mile off the where ever I was. Easy ride home on pave with my new shorts torn in 6 places from thorns.

Life's a s***, but I have just ONE question: JUST 4 WEEKS BEFORE THEIR HEADLINE EVENT, CAN'T EPIC RIDES PUT UP AN ACCURATE COURSE DESCRIPTION ON THEIR WEBSITE?? CAN'T THEY AT LEAST MENTION THE LAST 4 MILES IS ONLY NAVIGABLE BY LOCALS. WHAT IS THEIR PROBLEM?

mtbr member
    Hmmm, bummer to hear about your pain. Ya, it helps alot if you have a local show ya. I'm guessing you got lost at garden grove were they are doing the thining project? I'm sure Shu and PMBA will get a trail crew together soon to tidy things up. Don't know what else to tell ya. Maybe next time post up a ride and maybe a local will join ya?
    Are local crew met up at the square and some out of towners who were there looked confused. So, we offered them to tag along, and they did and had fun.
    Bummer.
    SHITBIRD

Got a suspension fork
    I love the courses feature of the Garmin Edge units for this sort of thing, it's far better at telling me to follow a course than I am at 'long hand' map navigation.