mtbr member

Up the Shaw Butte laps

Surprisingly very few souls are venturing up the Shaw Buttes. I’ve been doing this for about 2 months now in light of the whisky 50 since it is only 5 minutes away from my house. 20 - 25 minutes up and 5min down with about 1200’ climb per lap. I’ve been doing 4 laps so far and I’d like to increase to 6 by the week end. Rest next week before the race. So who wants some? 6pm at 7th street parking for 2 hours of serious climb. Awesome view after 7:30.
    Last edited by ssphoenix; 04-18-2011 at 09:09 PM.

Got a suspension fork
    wow, 5 minutes down is smoking!

fwiw, I show it's 793 feet of climb up Shaw Butte. man, 6 times up that is really impressive. Well done man.
    ONE SHOX, ONE GEAR, LOTS of FUN! www.TrailFu.com My Rides

mtbr member
    Hi Randy,
    Looks mean but really it is not that bad. I don't have an altitude GPS but Shaw is 2100' and I think phoenix is at about 1000' - and some places 1200'. Just a guess. Very true, the DH portion is scary. But people (hiker) are friendly and they get out of the way. I haven't got to 6 yet. I am hoping by the week end to increase my climb to at least 7000'. I want to be like mtbkracr

Got a suspension fork
    Quote Originally Posted by ssphoenix
    Hi Randy,
    Looks mean but really it is not that bad. I don't have an altitude GPS but Shaw is 2100' and I think phoenix is at about 1000' - and some places 1200'. Just a guess. Very true, the DH portion is scary. But people (hiker) are friendly and they get out of the way. I haven't got to 6 yet. I am hoping by the week end to increase my climb to at least 7000'. I want to be like mtbkracr
    Don't we all!

I've done Shaw several times, my corrected GPS data says it's 730' of climb (I mis-spoke from memory before.)

mtbr member
    Randy,
    You are right. Found this site which show more accurate info of the area. http://www.trimbleoutdoors.com/ViewTrip/26661.

mtbr member
    Look ss,