Tires- Mtbr.com

Thread: Tires

Si vales, valeo.

Tires

(I was asked to move this thread to the AZ forum by the moderator - so here it is)

Right now I am running 2.5 Big Earls with Stan's on RhynoLite rims. I want a tire that is close to that in size and is compatible with Stan's that is good for the desert terrain here in AZ. I do light freeriding with some trail/xc as well on my hardtail freeride bike.

What would be a good tire combination for this setup? (I'll post a list of some of the ones I was thinking about below, but please feel free to give me your opinion.)

Maxxis Minion DHF/High Roller combo
    Panaracer Fire FR Pro 2.4
    Kenda Nevagal/Blue Groove
    Schwalbe Fat Albert
    Hutchinson Spider(?)

I think I am leaning towards the Maxxis combo, but I have very little knowledge and experience in this area.

Thanks in advance!

Saucy Size
    I personally love the Kenda combo in 2.5 on my "big" bike but that is a LOT of tire to pedal around. It's also not Stan's-compatible, at least according to Stan (and Kenda -- they put a big "do not run this without a tube" warning on their package IIRC). That said, I know plenty of people do it with pretty good luck. I'd be interested in trying the 2.3 version at some point for a less-heavy version.

I like the Maxxis tires but, again, a lot to pedal around.

Tried, and hated, the Spiders. Thin sidewall, lots of cuts. An easily cut sidewall is a dealbreaker for me in most cases, particularly with UST.

Don't know anything about the Schwalbes but I know a couple folks here have used them.

p.
    Don't be that guy! Read the forum guidelines.

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    I cant comment on the 2.5's but I think the standard Nevegals arent that great for
    traction on the loose climbs, you spin out pretty easily and the front washes under
    going thru sandy sections. If the 2.5's have the same tread pattern, I imagine they
    wouldnt be much better. They do hold up pretty well, though. I havent had any