Racing Fees- Mtbr.com

Thread: Racing Fees

mtbr member

Racing Fees

I know that racing is not supposed to be cheap, but the fees are incredible. The MBAA race series is beginning, and it seems like the fees keep tacking on. An MBAA license is $20, a USAC license is $60/min, and then you have to pay for a race ticket. That is just so you can race. In this economy, where people are being paid less, asked to work without pay, and/or even being laid off, it is tough to swallow. I'm an amateur racer, and I know that it is my decision whether or not to race, but I can't say I'm happy about all the licensing and accredidation you have to do for each race. I'm just venting, and I paid my entrance fee.

- Anyone else agree these fees get out of hand?
    Making Milk by Day, Beer by Night

sprocket
    Quote Originally Posted by Pynis McDermott
    I know that racing is not supposed to be cheap, but the fees are incredible. The MBAA race series is beginning, and it seems like the fees keep tacking on. An MBAA license is $20, a USAC license is $60/min, and then you have to pay for a race ticket. That is just so you can race. In this economy, where people are being paid less, asked to work without pay, and/or even being laid off, it is tough to swallow. I'm an amateur racer, and I know that it is my decision whether or not to race, but I can't say I'm happy about all the licensing and accredidation you have to do for each race. I'm just venting, and I paid my entrance fee.

try the AES series and other underground events. "...are you freaking out man?"

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by yetisurly
    try the AES series and other underground events. "...are you freaking out man?"
    Thanks, I like the Super Troopers reference.

mtbr member

Its getting there. I paid $48.20 with fees when I registered last night, plus $6.00 yesterday to pre-ride and then $6.00 for Saturdays entrance fee. $60 and I better do well!! Or get a lot faster and get fees paid for by sponser.