mtbr member

Night Riding in AZ

Let me start out by saying I'm a total NOOB at night riding so excuse my ignorance. My plan this summer (when the heat is unbearable) is to start doing more night rides. I just ordered my Magic Shine 1400 and 900 so I should be equipped.

What time do most people ride at? I was planning on getting up super early around 3 am and hitting the trail at 4am before the sun rises. I figure that's the coolest part of the night (or morning depending on who you are).

Where do most people ride? That might be a loaded question since I figure it's probably not exactly "following the rules" of most places to be out on the the trails at night. But seeing how I rarely see any enforcement on the trails I ride in the day time I figure they are most likely not patrolling at 4 am either (unless there was some kind of complaint).

im4Gsus
    most people start their summer night rides ~7pm or later. i don't find that cool enough.

i like your idea better of hitting the trail at 4am...but boy that's gonna be hard getting out of bed at 3am...

i H8 summers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    "If God is your co-pilot you're in the wrong seat!" S Barrington

mtbr member
    3 am is only an hour earlier for me, right now I'm getting up at 4 am so I can take a dump and eat breakfast before my ride.

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    3am? 4am? Yikes man! I'd classify that as early morning rides rather than night rides. You're getting the 'coolest' temps for sure and I bet there are the fewest people at that time though...

If I night ride I'll be out at 9pm or so. I've got two MS 900s and they give more than adequate light. SoMo and Hawes offer some good night ride options.

skilldest©
    I stay on flatter trails at night unless in a group - for safety reasons. Park rules are important. BUT IF I were to go outside park hours I WOULD stay on the fringes (away from main gates for example). That is pretty damn early...

mtbr member