mtbr member
    Apr 2009

New tires for a newbie

I just started riding a couple of months ago and have a feeling that my current tires aren't sufficient. I ride a Trek 4500 with 26" wheels and mainly ride Hawes Trail. I am overwhelmed by all of the different tires available. Can anyone recommend a tire suitable for Hawes?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    I just put on some Kendall Nevgal's, and I love em.

oooh, shiny...
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by AzMtbeR
    I went with 2.35 DTC. they are probably a little big for hawes but the still work great and I was able to convert them to ghetto tubeless.

mtbr member
    a great tire for haws that is inexpensive is the 2.1 panaracer fire xc pro. get 'em at price point .com for 19.95 ea. or two for like 34 bucks plus ship. ive used several and really like 'em. for more money i recommend maxxis 2.3 minion dh front specific and a 2.1 maxxis advantage for the rear.
    RAM speed: UP, UP, and away....!

I Rode a Metric Century!
    I would go with a Bontrager Jones, love mine

"Yabut"
    There are many, MANY threads on tire choice here. Do a search, and you will have a plethora of information.
    ~Aaron~
    "I like the night life. I like to boogie."

www.CosmicRaces.com

My other ride is your mom