mtbr member

New to mountain biking, where to?

Hey guys... title post says it all... I'm new to mountain biking and am interested in tearing up a trail early in the morning.
    Any suggestions?
    I'm not really familiar with all the terminology of these forums, but from what I can tell I I like the XC / AM category of biking from my experiences so far. My fitness level is pretty good, but my mountain biking skills need a ton of improvement.

Oh yah, I live in the Tempe area, so something near here that isn't super crowded would be preferred, but hey, I'm willing to drive for a minute if the rewards are worth it

Oh yah I'm gonna be going super early too... like 6 AM at latest if anyone is interested !

dirt visionary
    HAwes would be a good place to ride. Also SoMo but that will be packed.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of
    arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body.

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    if you are new to a MTB then I would recomend taking it easy and make sure you know what trail you are on. South mountain as he said can be a great place to start, or to get a helicoptor ride out of. Phoenix has some of the best trails in the nation but some of these you need to be wearing full armor and know what you are doing. It is not uncommon to find people over their head on a bike on a trail, do a video search for huffy boy meets the waterfall, that was on south mountain.......
    and the lurker returns to the dark corner

mtbr member
    Check out Desert Classic at SoMo. Super mellow and you can always turns back when you've had enough.

dirt visionary
    I would pick Hawes over desert classic anyday.

mtbr member

true

[QUOTE=clockwork]I would pick Hawes over desert classic anyday.

fully agreed hawes is awesome! but for someone who is brand new riding dc is a little more chill, IMO. and slightly closer to tempe.

dirt visionary