NBR: Scorpion Control- Mtbr.com
    sixsixtysix

Caution;  Merge;  Workers Ahead! NBR: Scorpion Control

Ok, so being new to the southwest, I am also new to dealing with the sometimes not so pleasant creatures we share this environment with. I have heard all about the Coyotes, Rattle Snakes, Gila Monsters, Javelina's and of course Scorpions. Its the last one that creeps me out the most, since they are the only ones who come indoors. Well last night I got my first encounter with one.

About 10pm I was watching TV and heard my fat cat make a chirping meow, I look over and he is franticly licking his paw. About a foot away from him on the kitchen floor I spotted something and had a chill instantly as I realized it was a scorpion I grabbed my shoe, tossed the cat out off the way and SMASH, one flat scoprion. These things are nasty, it was a large bark scorpion, about 2 1/2" long without the tail, and it stung my cat. Being freaked and grossed out I called the Tempe animal hospital and they told me to keep a eye on the cat for an hour and see if he has any problems breathing, walking, etc. Well, within a hour he was acting fine, but his paw was about 3 times the normal size, although he really didn't seem to care, I do. I do not want these things INSIDE my house

Ok so heres my question, what do people do to keep these things outdoors where they belong? I dont really want to spray because of other animals and kids in the area and from what I have read, it doesn't do much for scorpions anyways.

Our house is BRAND new, just build in Dec 05 and never lived in until we got it in June, everything looks like its sealed, weather stripping around the doors etc.

We have a small farm right behind our house, as well as a canal right behind our sub division, I am sure they like both.

My buddy told me to get a chicken, and as appealing as it sounds, I dont think the neighborhood assoication would like it much. So any ideas? Tricks, Tips?

I think I need to Upgrade