Thread: McDowells beta

No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005

McDowells beta

Embarrassing to admit since I live right here, but I have very little knowledge about the McDowell trail system.

What I have ridden, I didn't think was all that great, but I suspect I'm missing the best stuff. I'm looking for a fun SS route.

Probably easier to tell you what spots I know: Anytime I've ridden McDowells, I've either parked at the golf course off 105 in McDowell Mountain Ranch or at 124th or 128th and Via Linda. So I've typically ridden Taliesin/Lost Dog/Etc. as a loop.

What am I missing? Please share your favorite loop or out/back as well as where you park, etc. Again, I'll mostly be looking to ride SS and not a sufferfest.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    Pima Dynamite. Not exactly near you but go north on Pima, right on Dynamite, pass the golf course and park on your right. Entrance is near some electric lines (as I remember). I rode it once and thought it would be really fun on an SS.

Click Click Click
    "You either want to or you don't."

No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005
    Very familiar with MM Park, not what I'm looking to ride. Was hoping for a new route in the McDowells proper, but not all the way up to Pima/Dynamite.

livin' the dream......
    If you park at Gateway TH or Village Parking lot (Thompson Peak and Bell Rd) you will be climbing pretty much right away. I recommend a clockwise loop from Gateway that takes you up Desert Park to Windgate Pass and down Gateway loop back to the TH for start. That is roughly a 7 mile loop with about 800 ft. of climbing. You can add on from there, but this loop at least puts you up on that part of the trail system gives you a sample with out committing to a bigger loop (yet). I ride with SS guys there sometime, and think they run 32x20? RandyHarris or Raybum can better answer that part!!
    Less f*cks to give every passing day, use them well. - geraldooka

No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005