mtbr member
    Nov 2018

Maricopa Trail Question.

My wife, who is a novice rider, and I started riding the Maricopa Trail at the Tonto Ranger Station, on Bartlett Lake Road, and headed north toward Bronco Trailhead...we didn't make it.

After climbing and traversing one moderately difficult hill, we were positioned on a saddle and about to descend into a wash and then do a bunch of switchbacks before making a long traverse to the right around a pretty good size bluff, or plateau. It looked way harder than the hill we just climbed.

We were a wee bit intimidated and bailed.

So, how hard is that hill? What is the trail like beyond that hill? And finally, were we even close to Bronco TH?

I've looked at a few maps, but I'm having a hard time determining the difficulty of the climb.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    That is part of the new section of Maricopa trail and pretty tough from what I have heard. Lots of elevation gain. Between Bartlett Ranger station and Spur Cross Maricopa is hard. Very hard. Bronco TH is right in the middle of that mess. I believe it can be traversed and strong riders can ride a lot of it. By contrast between Spur cross and Lake Pleasant Maricopa is fully rideable. Might be a few isolated steep climbs that cause issues, but nothing really "hard". Maricopa from Bartlett south though Browns to just before the passes in the McDowells is what I call "easy".
    Joe
    '18 Specialized Epic 29", Vassago Verhauen SS 29", '13 Santa Cruz Solo 27.5", XC, AM, blah blah blah.. I just ride.

mtbr member
    South from the ranger station will be much easier.

This is the section you were on:

https://www.trailforks.com/trails/ma...il-segment-22/

This is the section to the south:

https://www.trailforks.com/trails/ma...tlett-lake-rd/

mtbr member
    Nov 2018
    I'm definitely going to have to become better versed with the trailforks app. Thanks so much.