mtbr member

Maricopa Trail East of New River Road

I road from Anthem to New River Road this morning and decided to explore what the trail was like in the hills across the road. I followed the trail sign to a single track and found the route got technical/difficult quickly. I road for what seemed like a mile or so where the trail dropped down and intersected at a "T". I went left where I saw the trail made it's way back to a road that went back to New River Road and I headed home. I am curious if this single track that I perceive to be technical/difficult is representative of what the trail is like if you ride to the Cave Creek recreation area. I am new to this sport and found this section tough, I am curious from others if it really is a difficult section, or if I am just not used to this type of trail riding. I appreciate any feedback or comments. I would like to ride all the way to Cave Creek park, but am not sure if I will make it if the trail is anything like the first portion. Thanks, Chris

mtbr member
    I have ridden from Anthem to Cave Creek on the Maricopa trail. Nothing technical really, but not easy either. Lots of rocks.
    Joe
    '18 Specialized Epic 29", Vassago Verhauen SS 29", '13 Santa Cruz Solo 27.5", XC, AM, blah blah blah.. I just ride.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    The switchbacks on the section you are talking about are pretty difficult. Definitely one of the harder sections. I love that section that your rode. The Maricopa in that area was cleaned up a lot before the Prickly pedal. Cave Creek park is not to difficult, but like Joe said it is rocky. Have fun out there.

mtbr member
    that section is a lot more difficult than what is in Cave Creek Park .. however, the eastern/southern section of the Go John trail is more difficult.. not many folks ride this section but it is super techy and difficult...

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by RajunCajun44 View Post