Looking for Info - South Side of South Mountain- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Looking for Info - South Side of South Mountain

Hey guys, I'm an expert rider (20 yrs riding DH in BC/Alberta) heading to Phoenix next week and looking for some SoMo trail beta.

I've ridden at SoMo before, but the only trails I hit were shuttles on Holbert and Geronimo. Loved them both, Geronimo was a pretty classic mtb trail with some good speed/flow, whereas Holbert was a fun challenge to maintain speed thru all the rock (boulder) gardens.

Since I'll be staying in the Ahwatukee area, I'm thinking it will be a good opportunity to explore some of the trails on the south side of SoMo. I've done some searching and I haven't found too many descriptors of these trails. I am on a 170mm "enduro" bike, will be mainly pedalling up not shuttling, and I am primarily seeking tech/gnarly descents that ideally still have good speed/flow.

2 Questions:

- of the descents on the south side of SoMo (Young/Old Man, Corona, Telegraph, Pyramid, Eliminator, Mine Drop, Lost Ranch etc), are there any must-rides, or trails to avoid, etc? Pretty much just looking for any sort of info/advice

- say I hit a descent on one of the above trails, what is the best way to get back up to the top? Looks like the 'easiest' way is to take Desert Classic back to Pima area and then head up Mormon/National, but its a pretty round-about route. Is there a faster/more direct way to get back up? Don't mind a bit of hike-a-bike if it saves significant time.

Thanks in advance, and if anyone wants to hit a lap or two shoot me a PM!

Scott

parenting for gnarness
    There is no good way to the top from the South Side, other than back up some of the trails you descended.
    YES to Scottsdale Prop 420
    Our Preserve, Our Taxes, Our Vote

mtbr member