Local beginner trails..- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2017

Local beginner trails..

Hi,

I'm about to get my first bike (getting a Stache 7 on the buy once cry once principle) and I'd like to find some good beginner trails to learn and for exercise. I live in East Mesa, is Blevins a good one or is it a little too easy? What are some other good easy to maybe barely intermediate trails in the area?

Also I'm down from 375 to 290 or so, so still pretty heavy but planning to hit 275 before I buy. I will probably rent one for a day first, what's a good tire pressure for a Stache 7 for someone around 290?

mtbr member
    I'm no expert on the PHX area and how long it may take you to move around the city but Browns Ranch had the easiest trails I've ridden in PHX, followed by McDowell's. What I liked about McDowell's was it had loops of varying length and difficulty so you more or less knew what you were getting yourself into.
    2019 Ibis Ripmo
    2019 Yeti SB5 (Sold)
    2018 Intense Tracer (Sold to son)
    2017 Intense Primer

mtbr member
    Nov 2016
    Warpaint over at South Mountain is a pretty fun little loop. It’s only like 1.5 miles or so to do a loop and not much elevation change or technical parts. Nice cause you can do multiple loops to bump up your mileage if you want. As you progress you can jump onto Desert Classic to add more mileage and increase the difficulty a bit. Global Bikes does their Saturday morning “Nacho Ride” group ride usually on Warpaint and sometimes Desert Classic. That ride is billed as a beginner friendly ride.

mtbr member
    I can't answer your question, but good job on the weight loss. that's awesome

Guided by Voices
    Usery Mountain Park is great for beginners. Start with Blevins and Moon Rocks then give Cats Peak a try. You can throw in Ruidoso, County Line, and Meridian for some extra miles but they tend to be really sandy in spots. Probably want to avoid Pass Mountain initially due to the climbs and technical aspects.