I finally saw a damned pig!- Mtbr.com
    Got a suspension fork

I finally saw a damned pig!

I was beginning to think that Havalina were a myth, I've been riding around the Phoenix area for 5+ years and have never seen one.

This morning I rode the full desert classic from Pima Canyon road out to that newish housing development 9 miles down the trail. Just about an 1/8 of a mile before the water tank there is a canopy of trees that hangs over the trail, I actually saw a Havalina in there in the pre-dawn with my lights as I was riding through. I could hear one or two more on the left side near the houses on that side but didn't see them.

After I got back to the car I decided to do the ride a second time (didn't go all the way to the end this time, the heat was wearing on me, but I managed to pull of a nice 30 mile ride out there this morning). At the EXACT same place where the Havalina was on the first time through traveling east, I saw a snake the second time around. Scared the **** out of both of us, he curled up to avoid me and I kinda freaked as I saw him and couldn't stop and damn near road over him.

Well anyway, squirrels, chipmunks, rabbits, jackrabbits, all sorts of birds, even a desert tortoise, but this was the first time siting of a Havalina for me! I'm up for a burro next time

oooh, shiny...
    I've only seen one in a little over a year. If i remember correct it was about 5am on the fire road. Came around the corner near where the Beverly Canyon trail crosses and he was standing in the middle of the road. I think we both scared the hell out of each other. Have not seen any havalina since.

I am Walt
    Javelina
    Ride more; post less...

mtbr member
    Here's a little clip from about a month ago:

Got a suspension fork
    Quote Originally Posted by u2metoo
    Here's a little clip from about a month ago:

U2metoo, I think that is the same area where I saw them this morning.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Also, not pigs. Peccaries.

Chunky Monkey