I am done with Crank Brothers!- Mtbr.com
    Just Joshin' ya!

I am done with Crank Brothers! (Well, that was stupid.....)

I have been rocking the crank brothers Mallet pedal for four or five years now and I am just done. The cleats wear too fast (or my springs are shot on pedals that are only 1.5 years old, which I doubt) and I replace way too much and they always release when I strike them on the top of a rock. That happens a lot here in AZ. The eggbeater design is great for shedding mud, but as you all know, that doesn't really matter here.

So, what should I switch too? I was thinking the Shimano SPDs with the resin or metal cage, but I have never used them before. Does anyone have experience with those? This is for a Titus El Guapo so I tend to ride through pretty technical terrain (national, geronimo, holbert). Or is there another brand people might recommend.

Sorry Crankbrothers, but I am just tired of my foot coming out of the pedal!
    Last edited by PrincipalRider; 01-17-2011 at 05:47 PM.
    Getting a dropper post is like getting a bidet. I didn't know I needed one until I get one and boy, does my ass thank me.

No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005
    Flats. If you must clip, I always preferred Time to Shimano as I found my feet popped out less from rock strikes. The cleats are brass, though, and do wear pretty quickly.

Just Joshin' ya!
    Quote Originally Posted by Blatant
    Flats. If you must clip, I always preferred Time to Shimano as I found my feet popped out less from rock strikes. The cleats are brass, though, and do wear pretty quickly.
    Yeah, I do flats on my downhill bike but I am a spinner. I need clips for climbing.
    Getting a dropper post is like getting a bidet. I didn't know I needed one until I get one and boy, does my ass thank me.

recovering roadie
    Shimanos are awesome. I saw that there is a new XTR Trail pedal with a large platform for standing when not clipped in - that could be a good possibility for you.

mtbr member