Hiking and camping Flagstaff- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2018

Hiking and camping Flagstaff

Any recommendations if I wanted a place to park my truck camper for the weekend where my dogs could be off leash, my wife can relax, and I can ride some sweet trails? I guess Iím wondering if I can get a decent campsite off Schultz pass without it being too crowded, or if Iím better off in Fort Valley area and accessing trails from that side. This is my first time riding Flag. Any help appreciated!

My other ride is your mom
    All options you mention are good, but the Schultz Pass has the potential of being a bit more crowded....especially now that you posted this on Friday night....but still worth a try in my opinion. The other option you have is camping off of FR 151 (Hart Prairie Rd). Schultz will have the best option for the most trails, followed by Ft Valley, and the FR 151 with access to the AZT close by.

If you light a fire, make sure it is dead out with lots of water, turning the earth over and over and using your hand to find hot spots....or better yet, don't light one.

Have fun.

mtbr member
    May 2018
    Thanks Maadjurguer! We ended up in Ft Valley given the late start and couldnít have been happier...although Shultz may be a bit more scenic. I was able to catch the AZT just a bit further up the road we camped off, and that opened up a ton of trails (in addition to the trailhead). Iíll head up for more of the same next weekend and look forward to learning the trails around Flag.

FWIW I camp about 40 nights per year and maybe have a fire 5-10 of those nights, usually for winter desert camping. Iím still surprised and impressed that we made it through the closures without the state going up in smoke. No way will I be ďthat guyĒ!

Low speed, High Drag
    I was gonna suggest Fort Valley for camping, but it looks like you already found it!!

We camped there for the MBAA race last year, and it worked perfectly for the race, and for the riding afterwords!!