Grand Canyon at Christmas Time?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

Grand Canyon at Christmas Time?

Hey guys and gals I have a Grand Canyon question. Im a newbie here from Ca. I'm very familiar with the N.P.'s in the Seirras but have never been to the Grand Canyon. I was planning on taking the family up there over Christmas Vacation. Does anyone have any info on hiking conditions this time of year. I'm interested in day hikes at about 5 miles, that my younger kids could manage. Any info would be great.

parenting for gnarness
    Quote Originally Posted by fiveo
    Hey guys and gals I have a Grand Canyon question. Im a newbie here from Ca. I'm very familiar with the N.P.'s in the Seirras but have never been to the Grand Canyon. I was planning on taking the family up there over Christmas Vacation. Does anyone have any info on hiking conditions this time of year. I'm interested in day hikes at about 5 miles, that my younger kids could manage. Any info would be great.
    i took my niece and nephew there last Tday, they were 6 and 8. They made it about a mile down Bright Angel and then back, and were pretty worked. Anything into the Canyon will be steep and have obstacles that might challenge a child, imo. Its just a matter of how far you want to go. A rim hike might be better, I am not too familiar with specific trails but i know there are good ones a bit away from the main drag. It will be crowded during the holidays and park entry will take you a while - 30 min is not unexpected. Its 7000 elev. so it will be very cold. As long as there is no precipitation, the trails will be fine.
    YES to Scottsdale Prop 420
    Our Preserve, Our Taxes, Our Vote

mtbr member
    May 2004
    Just wanted to add you should be prepared for ice on the trails. Instep crampons and hiking poles are enough but that's pending some precip Usually, the first mile or so of the trails will be patchy ice. Also, in my experience the crowds are very lite during x-mas and new years.