mtbr member
    Feb 2014

Good XC/Enduro tire for Phoenix area?

I just started riding again, and picked up an Ellsworth Truth with some Mavic Crossmax SL tubeless rims, and I am looking for a good tire for the rocky terrain you will find on most mountains in Arizona!

I am doing mostly XC with a little downhill and some rock gardens.

Looking for a good tubeless compatible 26" tire between 2.1"-2.3" wide that will work well with Arizona terrain.

Also, whats a good LBS that can mount these with new rim tape and sealant if I dont feel like messing with it and want it done right the first time? And whats a reasonable asking price from an LBS to do this?

Thanks for the input!

mtbr member

Kill me now!!!!!!!!!!!! In a 26er, check out the Panaracer Fire. And do yourself a favor and learn how to mount the tires yourself.
    Nobody gives a s#$t you singlespeed.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by Casual Observer View Post
    Kill me now!!!!!!!!!!!! And do yourself a favor and learn how to mount the tires yourself.
    I could shoot you if that is your wish, but please write a note exonerating me!

I can mount what I consider to be a normal tire in a speedy fashion. I have changed many a flat on the trail or road. However, it looks like things have changed a lot since I last rode. Folding tires, UST, tubeless, ghetto tubeless, rim tape, rim strip, rim job, and on, and on!

I really didnt want to find out that I did a sheit job mounting tire as I am descending rock garden and eat sh*t when my tire decides to burp.

Additionally, I would like to establish relationship with an LBS, and who better to teach me about all the new tubeless sh*t. So quit bustin my balls ok pepe! ;-)

In a 26er, check out the Panaracer Fire.
    Looks like a nice tire, thanks for the recommendation!

mtbr member

Fair enough. Sunday Cycles. Good people. (And ask them if they carry Panaracer Fires, but wink when you do it.)
    Nobody gives a s#$t you singlespeed.