East Valley rookie here...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

East Valley rookie here...

So ive read the sticky as well as a few other forums...Im still unclear where i should get started. Im new to the sport, and wondering where would be a good spot for a beginner to start riding and get to know their bike?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolverine3982
    So ive read the sticky as well as a few other forums...Im still unclear where i should get started. Im new to the sport, and wondering where would be a good spot for a beginner to start riding and get to know their bike?
    I take beginner riders to the Warner-Elliot loop and turn off at Equestrian. Park at the Kyrene de Las Lomas school and follow the power lines to the trails. You'll be at the sand flats, and going generally to the southwest will take you to the water tank on the Desert Classic trail. From there you can putt around on the Warpaint loop.

If you're in doubt go to Cactus Bicycles next to the Safeway at 48th and Elliot, or Curbside Cycles at the southeast corner of 48th and Warner and ask for directions. (Both shops are user-friendly.)
    "Thank you, God, for letting me have another day"
    The Milagro Beanfield War

kAZ
    mtbr member
    In the far east valley try Usery Park. The trails on the south side of the park are perfect beginner trails. Near Tempe, Papago Park near the zoo, and Desert Classic at South Mtn fit the bill.

Cannondale+China=Sad
    Mar 2010
    Check out San Tan Mountain Park. Very beginner friendly.

mtbr member
    Where in the east valley? If you are on the north end go to McDowell Mtn Park and start with the sport loop at the competitive tracks. Lots of fun, fast and smooth, nothing technical at all and short - 3 miles. Papago Park also has alot of easy trails.

mtbr member
    Hawes trail (Power/Thomas) is not too much of a killer. That was where I learned most of what I know about my bike.

mtbr member