mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Earning upgrades

So, I started riding earlier this year, back in June and bought a Giant Revel 1 Hardtail. Been riding as frequently as I can, and even squeezing rides in when i can't ride =p

Lost 40lbs

Couple scars

Some great stories

Still long ways to go.

I've had a couple opportunities to buy a fancy, shiny FS since then, and i keep passing on it. I don't think I've earned it yet. There are some spots that I can't clear yet, that i think i should before i spoil myself with a super sweet FS.

I was on a ride the other day, and I was looking down a section and thought "no friggen way am I riding down that, it is probably just a hike trail, because it is thin and gnarly" while im catching my breath low and behold i see some dude RIP his way up this gnarly section and keep on trekking like it was no big thing.

Still a long ways to go.

Just curious if others have put off the fancy shiny new stuff until they can ride the crap outta what they already have?

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    I wouldn't look at it as upgrade so much as usefullness. If you ride a lot of paved and/or road paths and are not taking many jumps etc, then a hardtail is better suited for you. If you ride more dirt and jumps then the FS will be more comfortable.

Rmember too that generally, HTs pedal more efficiently than FS since you lose some pedal power in the suspension which would otherwise transfer straight to the crank on a HT.

Hope this helps...

Multiple Lines Rock
    depends

some upgrades are enablement others are earned
    fork-enablement
    lighter bars/seatpost-earned

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Acrophobe View Post
    depends

some upgrades are enablement others are earned
    fork-enablement
    lighter bars/seatpost-earned
    Good point.

I did upgrade my tires due to a nasty fall i had the front end slide out from under me due to high pressure and no grip.

Also upgraded to clipless