AZCentral: Mountain lion killed after run-ins with cyclists, game officials- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

New question here. AZCentral: Mountain lion killed after run-ins with cyclists, game officials

Anyone know anything more about this?

http://www.azcentral.com/news/articl...lion17-ON.html

Jan 2004

I think the Rangers did the right thing

Quote Originally Posted by AZRobbo
    Anyone know anything more about this?

http://www.azcentral.com/news/articl...lion17-ON.html
    I don't know any more than the article details. This is one of my main riding areas, and "Ironbar" has been talking to me about riding that very trail soon.

Though I am a wildlife photographer and look forward to wildlife encounters, I think the person who criticized the killing of this animal is an idiot. It is quite true that we are riding in their territory, and I respect that, but this animal's behavior had obviously crossed a line.

I was photographing a pride of eleven lions with a zebra "kill" in Namibia a few years ago. I was about 75 yards from the zebra, and twice one of the lions moved out toward me to check me out (I was not in a vehicle!) The second lion was not more than 30 feet away from me, and frankly I was scared silly, but they were not "stalking" me and were only interested in protecting their kill, so I think it would have been unconscionable to have shot the lion (not that I was armed anyway).

In the story about Mt. Lemmon the people WERE the potential "kill", and that is a different matter.

John W.

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    Its sad that it had to come to that. But better that nobody became lunch.

I am Doctor Remulak
    Any of you Tucson guys know the 2 mountain bikers in the story?

Sounds like they did all the right things to protect themselves from an attack. I had the same defensive thoughts in my mind while in Globe on Sunday.

Mike

MTBR Tool

Whaaaat?

Quote Originally Posted by AZ Mikey