Anyone riding an RFX- Tucson area?- Mtbr.com
    ~~~~~~~

Anyone riding an RFX- Tucson area?

Just got a nice new (used) Turner RFX having never ridden one. I'm hoping I didn't just purchase too much bicycle for the terrain. FYI- I'm kinda new to AZ (one month) so I haven't gotten the chance to really explore, but I know the singlespeed just isn't cutting it for everything.

Plus size jersey model
    Bring it out on the Wednesday night ride this week and we can put it through the ringer. Or just sale it and ride everything on the rigid SS thats what I have been considering.

Elitest thrill junkie
    The thing about "too much bike" boils down to one thing really. It is simply a matter of how strong you are.

For some people, the heaviest bike they can ride for hours on end is a 25lb hardtail. For others it's a 45lb freeride bike. For some it's in between.

You can never say that bike A or B is "too much" bike, it just comes down to how strong the person is. Things like suspension efficiency don't really enter into this much. If a slight amount of efficiency or having "lockout" on vs off makes some sort of difference then you're riding such a fine line where you'll get dusted by riders slighly stronger than you.

So, the RFX is a fine bike for tuscon. There's plenty of terrain around that's fun to ride on it. On the other hand, there are also some trail systems comprised of "buff singletrack" that are somewhat boring to ride on a bike like the RFX, not to mention that the RFX's prowess is clawing up technical climbs and flying down technical downhills. It's not the best for smooth flat singletrack. I haven't ridden in Tucson proper, but I know they thave many kinds of terrain.