4 Flat Tires.....- Mtbr.com
    Newbie...yeah that's it

4 Flat Tires.....

Yeah that's right 4 flat tires today. I went out to pre-ride the White Tanks race loop and right off the back I double flatted, so I replaced the more badly damaged tire and patched the other one. Then I get all set up and ride up the switch backs and around the mountain, I hit that super fast kinda down hill straight away and go down a little wash hit a little rough bump and all I hear is fiiizzzziiiittttttt, yeah that's right double flatted again!! I was outta tubes and patches and they were both nasty rips. Needless to say I hiked my bike 2 miles back to the parking lot. Just wanted to say thanks to the guy that slowed down and asked if I needed help, don't know who you are or if you come to this forum.

Now I'm a newbie at this and was going to do the up coming race, but I really didn't have fun on that trail, am I not the only one? It wasn't the fact that I flated twice because I rode most of the trail, it just seemed boring to me. After the ride I have decided not to do the race on Saturday, my view is if it isn't fun to me why pay to ride it and not have fun.

It's a Sledgehammer.
    Sep 2005
    My recipe is the following: good thin tubes, powdered, velox rim tape. Inflate to a minimum of 50-60psi. You'll get very few flats with higher pressure. I get the odd puncture and pinch flat, but it could go for a year without flatting (I ride 3x a week on somo).

mtbr member
    If you can't have fun riding the Whitetanks, you probably won't have much fun anywhere else. The Tanks are fast, the climbs are reasonable, and the tech sections aren't extremely technical, but do keep you on your toes.

The McDowell course may be more your cup-O-tea, but It's way on the other side of town if you live in the west valley. You should pre-ride it if you haven't been out there before, and plan on racing there on the 18th.