Your help please, new helmet advice!!!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Your help please, new helmet advice!!!

I'm in the market for a new helmet. I recently purchased my first bike "2012 Rockhopper 29er" . I went out and bought a Bern Brentwood "bmx style" helmet when I first got the bike. I didn't like the look of the traditional space ship looking road helmets. After using the Bern, I've came to the realization it's hot and heavy. And too top that off, there are some light, well ventilated, more protective, and cool looking "all mountain" helmets out there.

I've narrowed it down to 3 or 4 I really like. Since I'm new to the sport, I'm asking for everyones help. I don't want to keep buying stuff and rebuying for what I actually want or need before what I have is even close to wore out. So what's everyones opinions on these helmets. Like and dislikes. If you have or had one, what did you think.

Fox striker, the newer version of the flux, now a bit lighter...

Specialized Vise...

Uvex XP...

Giro Xen, I believe? Not sure I like the looks of this one, but an option in tis category...

Other?.....

Thanks in advance to everyones help, opinion, and advice!!!

mtbr member
    Mar 2009

$40 Vice

If you can try them all on and buy the one that fits the best......

But if you are just going to buy one and take a chance....go with the Vice.....especially at this price.....It's probably a little more bulky than others....but it is by far the most comfortable and easy to adjust.

Use this link and save yourself some $$ if you don't mind some of last years colors....

Specialized Bicycle Components : Vice Helmet

Yes, that's fonetic