Wrist tendonitis & Wrist Support- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2016

Wrist tendonitis & Wrist Support

Hi!

I do general trail riding / XC riding, I am a musician (professionally , so need my wrists badly) and have some inflamation, tendonitis in my left wrist, and in addition I just would like to protect and support both as much as possible.

I am in physical therapy strengthening them and I am using some serras gel gloves to cushion but I am wondering what you guys would suggest as far as wraps / wristguards, and handlebars.

Specifically I am curious about :

Six six one wrist wrap pro
    Troy Lee Designs wrist support wrap

open to any and all glove, handlebar, and wrist wraps/guard suggestions to help me ride and not worry about jeopardizing my career or creating more issues for myself

Thank you!

turtles make me hot
    I was getting pain in my right wrist on long rides since a broken forearm 20+ years ago and the doctor setting the bones wrong.
    I tried a few different things and ended up settling on Jones Loop H bars. the swept back hand position did it for me.
    I am running mine with Lizard Skin Peaty grips but I'm about to try Jones foam grips for a little more comfort on my rigid fat bike.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    Esi chunky grips dampen a a lot of shock and make a huge difference. I run the extra chunky which are 4mm thicker. I wear XL gloves.

Demon Cleaner
    Rather than a padding issue, consider alignment. Ideally, trail feedback should transmit up through your skeleton. If your wrists are bent and acting as flex joints/shock absorbers then they will eventually get overworked and inflamed. Try modifying the angle of your brakes and shifters so that your wrists are "nearly" strait in an attack position. There is more advise about this online (on mobile now and can't google it for you).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Bicycling is politics by other means.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Structure View Post