Winter Riding Gear- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2014

Winter Riding Gear

Hi,
    I am looking for a mdi weight jacket or sweatshirt I can wear over a long sleeve or a short sleeve for 40F - 55F riding.

Ive been looking at:

Free Shipping | The North FaceŽ New Men's Kilowatt Jacket

Segnas Advanced Jacket Men - Jackets and Vests - Mammut

Ultimate Nordpfeiler Jacket Men - Jackets and Vests - Mammut

Masao Jacket Men - Jackets and Vests - Mammut

Any other suggestions welcomed!

mtbr member

Winter Riding Gear

Get a cycling specific jacket for a start. There's a lot often on sale. Check out gore. Look on competitive cyclist. But at 55 degrees all I'd need is a thin base layer and regular jersey. At 40 I'd wear a long sleeved base layer with a long sleeved jersey. I wear jackets from 15-35 degrees.

mtbr member
    Sep 2014
    I'm new to colder weather riding & trying to figure out what to wear ... rode yesterday, around 45-50F. Thin poly/lycra base layer pants, short sleeve shirt & windbreaker was too much. Didn't need jacket, but my feet were cold.

mtbr member
    Merino wool socks and if your shoes aren't bulky some toe covers. I use gore ones. I think they're called toesters. They're like little socks that go on the end of your shoes-and block the wind.

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    Ha I was just thinking what to layer up with for tomorrow, high of 18. Bundle up!

mtbr member
    Sep 2014
    i never use a jacket unless snow/rain is actually falling, the rest of the time i am better off with layers; long underwear, a sweatshirt

mtbr member
    Aug 2014

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    I don't know if others have this issue, but I'm a really sweaty person, and any sort of jacket makes me sweat like a pig at a swimming meet regardless of how cold it is outside.