Winter Helmets- Mtbr.com

Thread: Winter Helmets

mtbr member

Winter Helmets

I've been riding my Salsa Mukluk for a couple of months now and I absolutely love it. It is an extremely fun bike. I got it with the intent to continue riding in the winter here in Manitoba Canada. My initial plan for helmets was to continue using my standard summer helmet with a balaclava and whatever else I needed to endure the cold weather up here. However I noticed helmets designed for snows sports such as skiing and snowboarding and they already have insulation built into the helmet. Would these helmets be good for winter biking as well? The packaging just says to not use the helmet with motorized equipment.

Thoughts? Suggestions

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I've worn those before and they do work pretty well. Most have ventilation systems that allow you to close the vents when its extra cold, or open them when its warm. Also, the ear flaps are sometimes removable. I haven't hit anything with my head while biking with one, so can't speak to that. My guess is the protection is similar.

Mostly I'll wear a bike helmet with a thin hat or headband, just because ski helmets are overkill unless its under 20 degrees. Downhill skiing is different because you aren't doing continuous cardio like with cross country or biking, so a warmer helmet is good.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I use clear packing tape to plug up the holes on the helmet, and wear a hat like others do underneath. Works perfect as the tape acts as wind block, and you can experiment with either blocking all vents, or leaving a few open in the rear to vent moisture.

Huckin' trails