Why you might be better off with a cheaper helmet.- Mtbr.com
    Suffers From Binge Biking

Why you might be better off with a cheaper helmet.

From some recent riding experiences, I've come to the conclusion that it might be safer to buy cheap $30 helmets rather than $130 ones. For the sake of the argument, I'm just going to assume that the actual safety doesn't vary too much, but the higher price is for the engineered lighter weight, comfortable fit, and adjustability. I've read many threads on here about cheap vs. expensive and this is usually the verdict.

I have been biking for about 5 years now, supporting my habit with very limited funds. Therefore, when I decided I needed a helmet, I went to my lbs and bought the cheapest one they had- a $30 basic Bell. A few months ago however, I decided to treat myself to an upgraded helmet, so I went out and picked up a $115 Uvex on- quite a beauty! It's feeling great and fits well, BUT it has already had to protect my head to two separate occasions. The first time it just hit a low solid tree branch, and the second time it bounced off a tree when I went OTB. Now I know a helmet is supposed to be replaced after impacts like this, but after JUST stepping up and getting this helmet, I am extremely reluctant to just toss it. I do all my own wrenching and consider myself an pretty good judge of the mechanical condition of something, and so I still use this helmet. Had I still been using my cheap original helmet, it would not be quite as hard for me to go out and get a new helmet after impacts like these.