what helmet to wear at Whistler MTB park?- Mtbr.com

Jun 2004

what helmet to wear at Whistler MTB park?

I have a Giro Switchblade... the one which goes from a no-face to full-face with an attachment. Will this helmet be good enough for 2 days at the park? It will be my first time there, and I'm new to freeride. Should I upgrade to a carbon full-face? My head is waaay more important than my money, so I'm willing to upgrade if its a better idea than using just the Switchblade...

Gear Whore
    While the I think that the switchblade is allright for light freeriding, I would go with a full face at whistler. I have heard many a stories of the little jaw piece of the switchblade breaking and causing injury to the face of the rider. From what I hear whistler is VERY fast and you really grow as a rider up there, sometimes ride harder than your skill level, but if something goes wrong....I would rather have a fully on...also leg and arm armour at least. Have fun man, hope to be hitting it up later this summer....well see.

Jan 2004

Dedicated Full Face Lid

Quote Originally Posted by coiler_casey
    I have a Giro Switchblade...
    My buds and I only spent 3 days in Whistler last summer, but we saw 3 major accidents while there. Common mech of injury was dropping off a ledge w/ weight too far forward, causing endo, causing face plant w/ head & neck injury.

One involved a rider wearing a Switchblade, and the lower face guard essentially shattered on impact. That rider suffered at least 4 displaced teeth (maybe more), and likely had nasal +/or facial fractures, among other injuries.

Another accident involved a rider wearing a full face helmet, but despite the increased protection he was still seriously injured (ie closed head injury, probable neck injury, definite compromised airway)