What equipment is needed for GOOD helmet cam footage?- Mtbr.com
    AW_

Jan 2006

What equipment is needed for GOOD helmet cam footage?

Ok, help a brother out. Does anyone know what it takes to get good / decent quality helmet cam footage? Most of the stuff I see posted on the interweb looks like crap (sorry). Now, I would say the same thing applies to a lot of bike photos I see on teh intranets too (but not all). That is easy to fix with a cheap, used DSLR and spending a bit of time figuring out how to use it.

Wondering if it is the same general problem for video too? Is it possible to make decent video without spending tons of cash of equipment? I'm not interested in making HD TV quality stuff, just something worthwhile, something that looks smooth. I have no experience with video, where do I get started?

Living the High Life
    I have a helmet cam and it bounced quite a bit. I even zip tied it down, my next step is get an older helmet and attach some kind of stiff mounting plate.

Otherwise the only thing I can think of is image stabilization, which would make for a much more expensive helmet cam.

FM
    mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by AW_
    Most of the stuff I see posted on the interweb looks like crap (sorry).
    Most of the stuff on the web looks like crap because it's been compressed down to like %2 of it's original file size.

highest quality: mini-DV camera attached directky to helmet (#1)

high quality: mini-DV in pack with viosport 1 remote cam and lanc control (#2)

good quality: remote cam with flash card or hard disc recording (i.e. viosport POV)

check out my site, the four videos at the top were filmed with set-up #2. The older ones below were filmed with a samsung sc-105x. ALl videos were compressed down from 2-3gb down to 40-70mb. Still way to big for youtube.