Using Road Shoes as MTB Shoes- Mtbr.com
    Huh?

Using Road Shoes as MTB Shoes

Hi,

I found a great deal for some road shoes online, but there's some obvious problems. Do road shoes and MTB mix well?

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    Some of the pro XC guys wear road shoes. Depends on how much hiking you expect to do really and also cleat compatibility.

mtbr member
    no they dont mix well. if you ever need to walk on a trail you will be bumming. you need some tread and a recessed cleat... the reverse holds tho - mountain shoes are fine with road riding.

Huh?
    What is a recessed cleat (sorry, I'm rather new to the shoes game). The shoes I found were Specialized Pro Carbon. Would that make a difference?

Old man on a bike
    On a road shoe the cleat stands out from the sole of the shoe, on a mountain bike shoe it's recessed below/at the tread level. Unless you never plan on being out of your pedals while riding a mountain bike, go with a mountain shoe.
    "...the people get the government they deserve..."
    suum quique

Huh?
    Thanks for that clarification, I understand it now.

mtbr member
    Mar 2009
    An oversimplification is: you can walk well in mtb shoes and poorly in road shoes. I would say walking over rocky areas would be very difficult in road shoes. Mountain shoes typically have shoe tread on the bottom. Road shoes typically are completely slick.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by airs0ft3r
    Thanks for that clarification, I understand it now.