Urban style clipless shoes- Mtbr.com

Apr 2007

Urban style clipless shoes

Hello all,

I came across this forum while looking for an answer I haven't received yet, so I figured someone here might be able to help me out. I have been riding clipless for a couple of years, but one thing that constantly bugs me is wearing ugly cycling shoes in the city, then having to stay in them while I'm not on my bike, or having to carry my regular shoes in my pack on certain occasions. Riding with regulars shoes on small clip pedals is also not so comfortable... So I figure this year i would get some platform clipless ala Mallet to able to ride more safely with just regular shoes (getting back from a party, doing the groceries) while keeping the advantage of clipless for longer distances. I'm also looking for urban style looking shoes (hiking style, skateboard style... just not plain cycling bananas), that or made for cleats. Can anyone point me to good looking shoes, that are comfortable and allow me for more than riding my clips (like riding to work, and not looking like a freak all day)?

Many thanks!

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    I have a pair of cannondale roam shoes. They look like sneakers. They work well. They are never gonna be as comfortable as a pair of new balance, but I like em.

Some Assembly Required
    http://www.sixsixone.com/Catalog_661...1-69FC78B820B6

Go there. I have the Sessions, (1st pic) they're not bad for the price. I also have the Filters, a decent shoe as well. Sessions have a real soft heal compared to the Filters. Filters soles are more like Vans. Filters strap is removeable.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "Why are you willing to take so much & leave others in need...just because you can?"

Apr 2007
    Thanks for the reply, how do you guys feel they compare to a pair of five.tens. Are those even available for clipless?

Five is right out
    Sep 2006
    I've just bought a pair of these:

http://www.exustar.com/sb701.php