Undershorts and leggings- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Undershorts and leggings

Hello!

I've had no experience with cycle clothing before, but chafing in the crotch area have forced me to start looking. There are two problems. Firstly, I commute in jeans and normal cotton underwear, which I understand is a big no-no. Secondly, the top tube of my commuter is slightly too long, but I'm hoping the chafing will disappear with bike undershorts. My commute is 12 miles round so the seat misplacement will be no issue once the chafing is gone.

My first question is whether bike undershorts with a gel insert can be used under jeans? I've been looking at this one in particular (Lusso Coolmax Pro X Shorts | Buy Online | ChainReactionCycles.com)

Secondly, with winter coming up, I've seen leggings/tights for sale (Canterbury Cold Legging | Buy Online | ChainReactionCycles.com). I assume the undershorts in the previous link must be worn under these?

Also, can the undershorts can be worn as the only layer during training on dry, warm days or is this "improper"?

Many thanks!

Phil

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    What you linked to are biking shorts (not undershorts) and can be worn under other clothing or alone. They also make padded liner shorts which are only worn under other clothing. I would pass on "gel" padding and stay with a foam pad.

You are correct that padded bike shorts of any type are always worn as the first layer against your skin.

Personally, I would not find wearing the biking shorts all day at work comfortable and would need to change clothing while there..

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by gmcttr View Post
    What you linked to are biking shorts (not undershorts) and can be worn under other clothing or alone. They also make padded liner shorts which are only worn under other clothing. I would pass on "gel" padding and stay with a foam pad.