Thank god for pads, gloves and Im already due for a SS.- Mtbr.com

Dec 2006

Thank god for pads, gloves and Im already due for a SS.

Well, as many of you know, Im new to the DJ bike scene. I just got my STP. I have already done a few things to it to fit me better, dialed in the fork, etc.

Today was literally my 2nd day on it. I was trying to manual down a pretty steep street near my house. I came off the back of the bike at about 20 mph and ate crap right on to my hands, knees and chest. Thank God for safety equipment. I would have been pretty messed up if it wasnt for shin guards and gloves.

I tore up my brand new 661 Nasty gloves (better to tear up the gloves than my hands)
    , scratched and bent my derailleur and pedals. At least it looks broken in now..LOL.

Well after only two days on this thing, Im sick of the damn derailleur. I can see why most of you run a SS.

What is my best bet for going SS? Should I purchase a new set of wheels with an SS Cassette? I was looking at a couple of those cheap SS kits. I may try that first to see how I like it.

Im a little discouraged. I was thinking I was going to go out there and be doing no handed backflips my first day...LOL. You guys make all that crap look much easier than it really is. I can do a pretty high bunny hop (about a foot and a half), just not much else.
    Last edited by spinwax; 12-31-2006 at 04:46 PM.

Dec 2006
    sounds like a pretty nasty spill ... but ur bunny hop sounds pretty good for a new urban/dj rider, same with ur manual! Is ur stp the highest end one or the lower end one?

Jun 2005
    your best bet is pick up one of the $20-30 single speed conversion kits. your bike has vertical dropouts correct? youll need to get a chain tensioner also.

this ones nice and cheap..

http://www.nashbar.com/profile_morei...u=14063&brand=

there are a few higher end ones also like rennen

http://www.rennendesigngroup.com/products.html

Dec 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by ontario_bike