skate style helmet for long skinny head.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

skate style helmet for long skinny head.

Hey guys.
    I look like an absolute tool in helmets . I'm looking for a dirt/skate style helmet.
    Anyone have any experience finding one for skinny heads? perhaps a helmet that is pretty thin?
    Maybe I'm clutching at straws, but any help to stop me literally looking like a d!ck would be good.
    Thanks in advance

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    Get a downhill helmet.

mtbr member
    too hot mate, and I won't be using it for downhill.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    I want one of these:

http://www.totalcycling.com/index.ph...urrency&id=USD

I don't downhill but i do go down hills and if i take a spill id feel more comfortable doing it in that i like my teeth and chin and face

mtbr member
    you look weird to your self looking at your self with a helmet but not to othere people i remember when i started riding i thought i looked weird.but after a while you just get used to your look.

Currently in Exile
    I'll tell you a little secret. We all look like dorks wearing helmets. Some make us look more like mushroom heads than others.

Get over it, find a helmet that fits your noggin properly and avoid mirrors while wearing it.
    "There are those who would say there's something pathological about the need to ride, and they're probably on to something. I'd wager though that most of the society-approved compulsions leave deeper scars in the psyche than a need to go and ride a bicycle on a mountain." Cam McRea

mtbr member
    looking around, not finding much but it looks like the giro hex has some good coverage on the back.
    Can anyone give feedback as to how it covers compared to a skate helmet?

Permanent Noob
    Don't know how it compares to a skate helmet, but I have a pretty round shaped head and it works nicely for me, where others always seemed tight front and back and a little loose on the sides.