Shoes for Non-Cleat Use? Help is appreciated!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Shoes for Non-Cleat Use? Help is appreciated!

I am new to MTB scene, and after riding road and racing for years when I was younger, I am really enjoying this. I recently bought a super clean Stumpjumper Pro, and am doing some local Mountain riding here in So-Cal, as well as riding on the gravel and road just to get back in shape. While the bike came with Shimano XT pedals, I took them off and bought a cheap pair of Platform Pedals (not clipless). I know I will hear all the reasons I should be using clipless, but for me at this time, I prefer not having to unclip, and am pretty much a beginner.

Having said all that, I am now riding with basic Tennis Shoes, and while they work ok, I want something with a stiffer sole, more of a riding shoe. Here are my question(s):

1. Is there such a thing as a bike shoe for non-cleat use? All the shoes I look at have the cleat space, and look designed for a cleat. Also, will these shoes work fine with no cleats, and will there be hot spots in the feet because it's designed for a cleat?

2. If there is such a shoe specifically designed for Biking with no cleat, do you have a recommendation or and idea what they are?

3. What do you non-cleat riders recommend for a good bike shoe if there is such a thing?

Thank you in advance for any help.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    I recently bought the Teva Links shoes that they just came out with. They look kinda funny, but paired with a good set of platform pedals they work pretty well. Nice and sticky, keeps my foot where I want it, but I can bail pretty quick if it starts getting hairy. I'm a newb too, so I feel your pains.

Stand-up philosopher
    get a pair of five-ten freeriders. they have a super-sticky sole and really grip the pedals. i got mine on 6pm.com for $60. they just look like regular skate shoes but were made specifically for biking.

T.W.O.