Shoes to buy when riding- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2018

Shoes to buy when riding

So right now I'm rocking some old school addidas shell toe shoes when riding. And we all know how the support is non existent in those shoes. I'm pretty new to riding and was wondering what the majority is out there on a good riding shoe? Do I need to go to Amazon or r.e.i. to buy some shoes? What's a good brand of shoe that has support for riders? Non clip in of course.

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Mtbr.com Forums

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    Really only two answers so far. Five 10 Freerider, Pro or Contact, and Adidas Outdoor Terrex Trail Cross SL.

Giro, Shimano, Bontrager/Trek, and Specialized make shoes also, but not as generally well liked.

All pretty spendy and rarely on sale.

Understand that these are for platform flat pedals with pins. They have flat soles with "Stealth" rubber (proprietary to Adidas 5.10) that seems to really grip pedals and pins better than anything else. They also have varying degrees of stiff soles for power transmission to the pedals, and stoutish toe boxes to protect your tootsies.

mtbr member
    Oct 2018
    For those 5.10's do they normal run around 120 or so for a pair

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Mtbr.com Forums

mtbr member
    Whatever feels comfortable...

I too have been running 5-10's for the last 12+ months.

Went out for a ride on Tuesday evening & I forgot to put my 5-10's back in the car.

Luckily, an old pair of Nike cross trainers - were lying in the back.

Funnily enough, they gripped better than my 5-10's & were more comfortable to ride in.

With the 5-10's, I've paid for durability & extra protection i.e. my soft, flexy Nike's would have offered minimal protection for my toes... if they had come into contact with hard, pokey up things (rocks/roots).