Running shoes for biking?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Running shoes for biking?

I'm still fairly new to mountain biking. Most of what is availalble in my regions is more XC type racing with some small technical stuff. I've just been using an old pair of running shoes to ride with stock platform pedals.

I get bumped off the pedals at times when carrying speed through the rough stuff...roots and erosion areas.

I know that clipless pedals/shoes will solve that problem completely...but...what about the other shoes designed for platform pedals? I hear people say that they "stick" to the pedals. Since I've never used them it's difficult for me to determine if buying a pair of dedicated shoes for platforms would be worth it over my current "cheap and efficient" method.

I'm not usually riding for more than 1 to 1.5 hours so i don't get any type of fatigue issues from the running shoes. I know the running shoes aren't as stiff as mountain biking specific shoes...but does the extra stiffness translate into a material difference in power getting to the wheels?

I've no experience at all with mtn bike specific shoes and don't want to waste money by going down the wrong road so to speak.

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by muddytire
    does the extra stiffness translate into a material difference in power getting to the wheels?
    In short...yes.

For a less expensive option you can use something like a skate boarding shoe with platforms. They are stiffer than normal shoes and tend to have better traction to stick to the skate boards which is helpful with platform pedals. I started with some platforms and 5.10 shoes which are supposed to be one of the best combos. The platforms are in a box and the shoes collecting dust in my closet. They did nothing for me. I went clipless and will never ride a bike any other way.