Riding with Progressive/transition lenses- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2004

Riding with Progressive/transition lenses

Reach the point where Iím wearing progressive lenses. Donít want to carry two pairs of glasses, one clear and one dark. So Iím thinking I'd like to get a good pair of riding glasses using progressive/transition lenses. Is anyone riding progressive/transition lenses that can offer any advice? What frames are you using? My Optometrist tells me with my prescription Iím looking at pretty flat lenses. Maybe Oakley Muffler style frames, a la Clark Kent!

mtbr member
    Check out safetyglassesusa.com.

They may have something that covers transition and progressive lens.

mtbr member
    I have no experience with prescription progressive lenses. However, the Oakley photochromics (I think is there term) work really well. I have found them to change relatively quickly (or more so than others I have used).

mtbr member
    Apr 2009

SportRx

I have ridden with transition lenses for almost 3 years now and will never go back. Prior to that I rode with contact lenses and sunglasses, but the contacts gave me problems on long endurance rides, especially muddy, wet conditions. With the transition lenses I can ride through the night and no worries about changing glasses or lenses. I bought mine through www.sportrx.com. Kind of pricey, but great customer service. I have Rudy Project Horus frames to accommodate strong prescription, but for normal prescriptions there are many more to choose from. Good luck.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Stay away from Oakley transitions prescription sport lenses. I bought Oakley Jawbones with prescription, vented, transition lenses. The whole package was around $550.