Riding Pants- Mtbr.com

Thread: Riding Pants

mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Riding Pants

I just started riding this fall, and I'm loving it. I don't want to stop completely over the winter, so I'm going to need some pants. I've been using short liners and they've been fine so far. I tried to use my hiking pants over those yesterday, but they kept getting hung up on the chainring. I live in north Georgia, so the weather isn't extreme here. Most days I'll be riding over the winter won't be below 45. However, that's cold enough to need some sort of leg protection. What would you suggest? Are there any pants or tights that work well, and aren't extremely expensive? Even better, are there any convertible pants that I can also use as shorts in the summer, getting more out of them. We have many more warmer months than colder here.

the half breed devil
    humvee endura knickers.

hands down the best piece of cycling apparel i've ever used in twenty plus years of riding.

they're available in the US, too.

Men's Hummvee 3/4 with Liner

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    In cool to cold weather I've had great luck with Stoic Overhang softshell pants. Great material--really comfortable in a wide range of conditions, and deals well with wet too. I did a Canadian Rockies bike tour this past summer, and basically lived in them, on and off the bike, in rain, sun, and temps from 35 to 80. The on-bike fit could be improved a little, however, since they have no means of on-the-fly waist adjustment without using a belt. You might check them out, or some other spring-weight softshell pants.

Alternatively, I Azonic/Oneal makes a convertible moto pant, the Apocalypse, that would likely be usable all year. They look pretty good, but I haven't tried 'em.

meow meow