Rearview Camera for Cyclists- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2015

Rearview Camera for Cyclists

I've posted a survey in other forums (thanks again to the participants); at the suggestion of some users here is an open discussion.

I'm a student-engineer working on a capstone design project. The idea is to mount a wide angle camera on your seatpost and either pair it to your phone or a dedicated screen situated on the center of your bars.

The objective being: give you a live shot of cars behind you and eliminate the need to stand up and shift back to see.

What would be most helpful is to hear your experience in sharing the road with cars. What are your biggest pains? You can tell us the idea stinks, it's great, what you would change, how much you would pay, or are you not concerned with cars at all? Free forum!

mtbr member
    I think you're not getting the response you hoped for because you posted this in the clothing forum on a mountain bike site. We're not generally concerned about what's behind us because most of the time, it's not cars. People reading this forum are asking questions about... pants or something, not gadgets intended for a different sport.

mtbr member
    You get a rear light with an internal camera.

mtbr member
    Jan 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by Joules View Post
    I think you're not getting the response you hoped for because you posted this in the clothing forum on a mountain bike site. We're not generally concerned about what's behind us because most of the time, it's not cars. People reading this forum are asking questions about... pants or something, not gadgets intended for a different sport.
    Hey Joules, thanks for taking the time to respond.

I don't have a desired response - positive and negative feedback are equally helpful.

I'm hearing that you in particular are not concerned about what's behind you. Noted.

I understood this section to be about apparel and protection... the latter being my focus.

L1MEY