"Re-breathing" with full face helmet- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

"Re-breathing" with full face helmet

Was riding a few weeks back on some trails that required some punchy climbing - switchbacks to get to the good stuff. Had on TLD full face and while I can't quantify it, felt like I wasn't getting the same oxygen intake as I normally do with open face and felt like I was inhaling a lot of what I was exhaling (CO2). Any feelings about oxygen intake with full face vs open? Negligible? Real? Thanks.

mtbr member
    Eat an onion, garlic and fish sandwich. Try the run again. Seriously, there is almost nothing blocking your nose and mouth that would prevent enough air intake loss to have a significant effect on breathing. Ever wear your full face in the mud? Is your face still muddy afterwards? Mud is a solid and still gets everywhere. I'm not a scientist, so I could be wrong...
    2016 GT Avalanche Comp
    2016 Raleigh Willard 1

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Tinymountain View Post
    Eat an onion, garlic and fish sandwich. Try the run again. Seriously, there is almost nothing blocking your nose and mouth that would prevent enough air intake loss to have a significant effect on breathing. Ever wear your full face in the mud? Is your face still muddy afterwards? Mud is a solid and still gets everywhere. I'm not a scientist, so I could be wrong...
    Understood but in this scenario you have a more concentrated level of CO2 around your nose and mouth. So you are in effect breathing a diluted mixture of O2. Not that the O2 can't penetrate the but that it is mixed with CO2. If you feel the effects of less O2 at around 6 thousand feet why wouldn't you if CO2 from exhaling is effectively diluting your O2 intake?

Elitest thrill junkie
    We are breathing into masks and still getting enough O2.