Question about gloves- Mtbr.com

May 2008

Question about gloves

Hey folks. I'm a newbie to all of this. Just started riding.

I've heard different answers to this, but do I need gloves? I ride about 90 minutes per night on relatively flat trails. I am waiting until I'm in better shape to tackle the hills. I have not yet experienced any kind of numbness in my hands/wrists, but I have been told it will happen if I don't wear gloves.

I know they would help for getting a grip, but is there any other reason to wear bike gloves?

Thanks.

surfer w/out waves
    I'd say very few riders need gloves... Then again, I'd also say that most riders want gloves...

I prefer a little layer of padding/grip/protection has made my rides more comfortable. I rarely ride w/out my Fox Dirtpaws... but wash your gloves otherwise they might get a little pungent.
    "Listen, strange women lyin' in ponds distributin' swords is no basis for a system of government!..." -- Dennis the Peasant

Hardtail Warrior
    I use gloves. I have some Pearl Izumis and they have a fleece outside that is made to wipe the sweat from your face. You have no idea how useful it is. They also have ulnar nerve protection which I find to really help make my rides more comfortable. Gloves are usually only about $30 and if you plan on doing any technical riding, they really help. Better grip means better control of the bike.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008

it depends

if you are riding on rocky bumpy ground ya it would probably be nice to have gloves, but if the trails that you are riding on arnt that bumpy you probably don't need gloves . . .

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Moonlight Graham
    I know they would help for getting a grip, but is there any other reason to wear bike gloves?
    Gloves also provide crash protection for your hands. imo, this is their most important function.

mtbr member