pressure suite (sleevless jacket). overkill for XC riding?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2016

pressure suite (sleevless jacket). overkill for XC riding?

I'm new to mtb, riding XC in a forest near my home. it's regarded as a fairly easy trail, here's a video of it (not my video, just random one). the guy even falls at 5.20.
    Currently, I ride only with a regular helmet & full gloves.
    will be adding the FOX Launch Pro Knee-Shin & Titan Pro Elbow Guards next week. I tried them on today at a local store, and they felt great.

But i feel upper body protection will still be lacking, so i tried the Fox Racing Titan Sport Sleeveless Jacket (the long version was to much). I don't think people wear anything similar on the easy trail i ride, most will think I'm an idiot...but i don't care about that!

average temperature in the summer is 86-104 Fahrenheit around here.

question is, do i really need this kind of protection? in case of a fall, will it make any difference? the idea is to give chest/back some sort of protection instead of being exposed. what do you guys think? can you even wear this at the temperature range i mention or it will be to hot? is it useless for my type of riding?

I'm also considering met parachute or bell super R2 for the chin protection.

mtbr member
    You don't need any protection at all, until you need it. When you need it, there's no such thing as too much. There's probably no such thing as enough. If it makes you less concerned about getting hurt, wear whatever you like. If you fall, it might help, it might not; depends on how you fall and what you hit. If I were to fall on my back and land with a rock in my spine, I'd rather have some sort of pad there than not. I've had some nasty bruises on my chest from landing on stuff that could have been lessened with a chest protector.

Personally, I couldn't wear a pressure suit, or even knees and elbows at >100f if I was going to be climbing at all. But I'm not you.

mtbr member