Osprey Raptor review...from long time Mule user- Mtbr.com
    EDR

Osprey Raptor review...from long time Mule user

I know I'm not the only one looking to try a different pack for biking so I thought I'd post this review comparing the two.

To start let me say I've been using Camelbak Mule's almost exclusively for more than 14 years (along with a H.A.W.G). Always loved them. When my (2nd) long time Mule was stolen 2 years ago or so I bought another about a year ago. Hi-viz orange in color (b/c it was discounted).

New Mule:
    Cons:
    This pack is not what I remembered from previous Mules. The color is no biggie to me mostly, but this hi-viz orange turned to a nasty white/grey/yellow color depending on where the Arizona sun hit it the most. Looks like garbage after just one year.
    -At least one zipper pull failed in this time as well and one of the buckles has morphed into a shape that makes connecting it with the other end difficult, I have to squeeze the prongs together to make the connection.
    -The material is highly scuffed and a bit ragged in places. My old school Mules felt like they would easily last a decade.
    -Bladder holder...it's a rigid pocket within the pack that holds the 'handle' of the bladder up high. This is useful but I feel like I'm always in battle with it when trying to load a full bladder. It's in the way but serves it's purpose. A pro and con I suppose.
    Pros:
    -Price...can be found for under $90 or less if you are patient in your shopping.
    -Quick disconnect at bottom of hose with shut-off valve. Highly useful. You can remove the hose at the base of the bladder even with the pack full of water. Makes life easy when adding ice/water from the fridge dispenser. I also like the large round opening. It's rigid and easy-peasy to hold with one hand and add water.