Ordered new bike, now I need pedals and shoes- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Ordered new bike, now I need pedals and shoes

Just ordered a Trek 6500 now I need some good, not to expensive pedals and shoes. I have no experience with clipless pedals, but want to try them. It would be nice if the pedals could be used with or without clips for some commuting in street shoes. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

mtbr member
    I am pretty sure this is what I will be ordering shortly(unless responses here suggest otherwise):

http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/186...r-C-Pedals.htm

Underskilled
    The lesser known option to clipless is using 5.10 shoes and good flat pedals.

The brand of shoe MUST be 5.10, they are a climbing shoe manufacturer and make special rubber. anyone can make a shoe, only 1 company can make the rubber.

get a good pair of flats, they must be thin.

Any varient of the kona wah wah is good. they are 1.9mm thick, thinner the pedal better the grip.

Superstar components makes the cheapest alternative in the uk, dont know about usa.

This will give you the traction to safely pull your bike into the air and circular pedal 90% of the revolution.

The trade off is it is more comfortable and safer, much much safer.

5.10 and kona wah wah.
    no other brand of shoe, no cheap pedals. spend as much as you would for good clipless.

hmm, probably a bit patronising, but you would be amazed the people who do this half way and it doesnt work.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    This is what I'll be getting soon. Clipless one side, platform on the other. Just make sure you get a shoe with a recessed cleat.

http://www.performancebike.com/bikes...00_20000_23013

Former Bike Wrench
    Quote Originally Posted by Rtdmn92
    This is what I'll be getting soon. Clipless one side, platform on the other. Just make sure you get a shoe with a recessed cleat.

http://www.performancebike.com/bikes...00_20000_23013