Only What's Neccesary Shoes (for platform) any good?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2011

Only What's Neccesary Shoes (for platform) any good?

Saw these linked in another thread and they look fairly new. Has anyone tried these?

https://www.onlywhatsnecessary.com/

The thermal bonding and double layer is the same as what Arc'Teryx is doing and it seems like the highest performance manufacturing method, but not sure it justifies the $200+ price.

Would be interested to see how these compare to Teva Links and Five Tens for a variety of riding condition, including long XC rides.

mtbr member
    Aug 2015
    That actually looks pretty cool. Wonder what the weight is. Looks pretty light

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Aug 2016
    I've been using these for a couple of months now. I was originally a bit put off by the looks of the white heel cap, but it started growing on me and as I'd look at my Five tens, I just kept thinking the OWN looked better- less clumpy. I'd also been thinking how long it always took for my Five tens to dry out, so the OWN looked ideal on paper.
    I tried a couple of sizes with thick socks, legs cramped up when I was trying to get them on! They're really pretty hard to get on at first, a long shoe horn works a treat.

I bought a pair and on the first ride one of my feet when numb very quickly. I'd bought them too small, well they weren't too short, just not enough height in the toe box. Luckily my local cobbler was able to stretch the kevlar uppers nd with continued use of a padded out shoe tree, I've got them permanently stretched.

In use I think they're great, the sole is indiscernible from my five tens for grip, they're decently waterproof and with merino socks and the winter liner, I'm finding them fine in 0 degrees C. They become easy enough to get on after a few wears, but that's not to say the liner becomes slack around the ankle.