Newbie Helmet, Gloves, Biker Outfit !!!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2009

Newbie Helmet, Gloves, Biker Outfit !!!

I just bought my first mountain bike last week, a Redline Monocog 29er. I took it on my its first off road ride today. It was a little rough on the hands as its ridgid, but I am a newbie and have not ridden a bike of any kind in over 10 years. I am sure with time, my legs will quit burning and I will have enough pep to make it up the hills.

I would like to know what is the best gloves, helmet, bike outfit for the beginner. I do not have a big budget as I spent $600 on the bike, so my budget is limited at the moment. If anyone has recommdations and where to get these, let me know.

I see Bell helmets everywhere and I see they got good reviews on comsumer reports, do I want one that is lower on the back for more protection ??

I am thinking gloves will help cushin the hands as I did not wear gloves today on my ride and my hands felt it. Some of it might have been me holding on too tight, but I am thinking gloves will help alot.

I see a bicycle outfit on ebay that says Discovery on it for $44, is this a good deal for a starter set ?. I wore regular pants and they catch on the seat when you have to get off, now I know why bikers wear the tight pants.

Any info will be greatly appreciated !!!

mtbr member
    May 2009
    As far as helmets go, you will get the same protection weather you spend $20 or $200. the more you pay, you are paying for airflow, weight, and the name brand. as far as the helmet that goes lower, yes it will give you more protection.

I dont know to much about the shorts.. I just wear regular shorts. But I think I just saw a thread on shorts..

mtbr member
    Apr 2009